Consultants? Paid help to get LinuxCNC fully functional.

More
16 Oct 2019 15:45 #148001 by randypetersen
Just curious if anyone knows any reasonable priced people located anywhere in the world to help me get my setup functioning at 100%.

I remember when I was working on a simple parallel port router with mach3, I spent about 15mins wiring an aluminum plate to a wire on the parallel port and had a functioning Z plate. So many issues I am having on this machine / board / software. Has me really regretting going down this path, as I don't really have time to learn the software programming behind it to get the job done. It's great stuff and awesomely customizable so I am not downing it, I just should have went with a simpler software. Especially for unique machines it's perfect. My simple wood router doesn't require the advanced customization of LinuxCNC.

If I knew what I was doing I would probably make quick work of it. Oddly enough I am an IT person by trade, and actually have some programming experience. Guessing I am not as good as I thought I was since this is giving me so much trouble. I am not a Linux guy either, have plenty of machines using Linux and can keep them up to date and set them up. Asterisk / FreeNAS /Ubuntu servers that stuff which is pretty simple. Even compiling patches and that sort of thing, but LinuxCNC details are difficult to grasp for me.

For example trying to get that MPG working, there are 10 different HOWTOs online nothing applying to my exact LinuxCNC version and my device. So trying to follow this walk through with this file and resolving these missing dependencies is a lot of work when it works out of the box with other software.

Restarted my machine while working on it and now it doesn't allow me to connect to the internet while LinuxCNC is open, which I had resolved and working good for weeks. Still got 2 network cards connected, but something is wrong again... didn't dig into it.