Servo drivers and spindle

More
28 Mar 2020 09:04 - 28 Mar 2020 09:28 #161792 by MT_Eu
HI every one,

I am new to servos until now I used steppers, and I have a question after I browsed different forum and did not find the information I was looking for.
So hier I am.

I saw arround people using servo motors and drivers for the spindle, I am in the process of converting my lathe.

The big question is:
to my understanding servo drivers work in 3 different mode 1) vilocity +-10, 2) torque +-10, 3) possition step dir.

After browsing the net I did not find servo drivers that do vilocity in step dir, if there is could u refer one to me?

Did I miss somthing, and no one is using servo drivers and are using vfd for there spindles

Or I could use a servo driver in possition mode and linuxcnc in vilocity mode?

I must add that I have a Mesa 7i95 witch dosen 't have a +- 10 but I could add a pwm pin and convert it to 0-10v for a vfd.

Any idea and clarification would be welcome and highly appreciated.
Last edit: 28 Mar 2020 09:28 by MT_Eu.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Mar 2020 14:07 #161810 by tommylight
Yes, you can use step/dir servo drives set to velocity mode in Linuxcnc.
You can also use steppers in velocity mode.
And if the deives provide encoder outputs you can use that to close the loop in Linuxcnc, despite drives having a closed loop.

More
28 Mar 2020 16:47 - 28 Mar 2020 19:40 #161822 by MT_Eu
Replied by MT_Eu on topic Servo drivers and spindle
Thanks for you reply

I am not sure I understand,
you are saying that the servo drive exist in stp dir vilocity mode if so could u give ma a brand doing this pls.

To come back to my original question, the drive I found is only doing vilocity in +-10 witch I don't have on my contrôler.

So can I use the driver in portion mode step dir, connect the encoder output of the driver to my contrôler encoder input and use linuxcnc in vilocity