rookie having problems with cutter compensation

More
28 Jun 2020 22:26 #173044 by mphle
Hi all!

I'm new to g-code and linuxcnc so I apologize in advance for what may be a stupid question...

I've installed Linux Mint 19.2 and linuxcnc 2.8 combo from BeagleBrainz as linked by tommylight here;

forum.linuxcnc.org/9-installing-linuxcnc...nd-easy-installation

and everything I've tried so far has been working great except G41 and G42 commands.

If I install a tool with a diameter of 0.125" via

T1 M6

and then use either G41 or G42 and try to program a lead-in move like:

G0 Z1

I get a lead-in move cutter radius error no matter what I put in for the Z distance.

If I put an X or Y move in like:

G1 X1 F10

the machine does not move at all. I don't get any error code but I get no movement from any axis.

when I then type G40 however, the machine immediately moves to the previous commanded place (ie x1) but with the correct cutter compensation in Y (ie +/- 0.0625" if using a 0.125 diameter mill depending on G41/G42)

Any thoughts or help is greatly appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jun 2020 05:58 - 29 Jun 2020 06:38 #173054 by Aciera

If I install a tool with a diameter of 0.125" via

T1 M6

and then use either G41 or G42 and try to program a lead-in move like:

G0 Z1

I get a lead-in move cutter radius error no matter what I put in for the Z distance.

I don't use cutter compensation a lot but I think you need to do the G0 Z1 movement before you activate G41 or G42. The lead in move needs to be at least as long as the radius of the active tool. In your case the lead in move in XY is zero. That is why you get an error message.

As to your other problem: Is this in a program or in MDI mode?

[edit]
I think you are trying to use cutter compensation in MDI mode.

Check out the docs (section 6.1.3) linuxcnc.org/docs/2.8/pdf/LinuxCNC_Documentation.pdf