Hardware Reccomendations

More
14 Sep 2020 03:43 #182051 by htdave
I am looking at converting my Hugong Plasma Cutter (www.hugongwelds.com/product/detail113.htm) over to LinuxCNC.

The plasma cutter runs servo motors for the gantry (2 for X axis and 1 for Y axis) and DC motors without any feedback for the THC and an air scribe. The Air scribe has an ohmic sensor for height control.

The servo motors are controlled by Panasonic MBDJT2210 220V motor controllers.

My reasons for wanting to change to LinuxCNC are twofold. 1) The Hugong software does not allow Plasma cut height to be set without THC, which means small holes have to be cut at pierce height, producing excessive taper.

2) I would like to add milling capability to the plasma cutter so that critical holes can be cut undersize, and then milled to the correct size - eg a 20mm hole could be cut at 19mm and then milled out to 20mm.

As I am new to both LinuxCNC and Linux in general, can anyone recommend a suitable computer as a starting point? Will I need a Mesa card as well?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Sep 2020 08:41 - 14 Sep 2020 21:32 #182061 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Hardware Reccomendations
1 LinuxCNC with PlasmaC can do all that and much more.
2 Milling anything plasma cut with HSS tools is not possible due to hardening on the cut surface, but it should be possible with Carbide tools.
For PC, i know of many that work but not by model number, but from advice from PCW most of us use HP 8300. For SBC someone else might chime in on what works as i do not use them.
Last edit: 14 Sep 2020 21:32 by tommylight. Reason: typo
The following user(s) said Thank You: rodw

More
14 Sep 2020 08:53 #182063 by BeagleBrainz
Although a little pricey, or not, the Odroid H2+ maybe an option. And there is an ISO to suit.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rodw

More
15 Sep 2020 03:44 #182176 by htdave
Replied by htdave on topic Hardware Reccomendations