Machine units=inches-Lead screw=metric

More
30 Sep 2020 20:55 #184421 by kfashby2020
Hello from Dixie to all you Linux guru's. Newbie here doing a CNC mini lathe conversion with a question. Looking over LinuxCNC as a control software in the "Base Information" machine units would be inches, as that is what I'm familiar with. Further down the config screen under "Axis X (Y) the "Lead Screw Pitch" is set for inches/rev. Searching for upgrading my lead screws to Ball Screws, most of which are metric. Hence my question, can I do the metric to inch conversion for the Lead Screw Pitch entry. Example: 5mm ball screw, 1 start = .196850 inches/rev = 5.08 rev/inch.
Note: As I stated i am a newbie to the CNC word and Linux, but been a machinist for many moons. All help is great is greatly appreciated and thanks for having me.

kim

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Sep 2020 22:40 #184431 by andypugh
Yes, no problem at all.

It's all just numbers to the computer.

More
30 Sep 2020 22:53 #184433 by kfashby2020
Thanks Andy. Do my figures look correct? How many decimal point will Linux let you enter in the lead screw field. My reasoning is the more decimal points, the more accurate the result.
Again, thanks for the reply and the help.

More
30 Sep 2020 23:02 #184435 by andypugh
LinuxCNC uses double-precision, so that's about 15 significant digits.
Inside the travel of a typical machine you don't need that. You can stop at one atomic radius :-)

Your numbers are correct for the config wizard. But you could consider editing the INI file afterwards where the input data will have been converted to steps-per-inch and a more-round number might be possible. For example a 5mm screw and a 200 steps-per-rev motor at 8x microstepping is exactly 8128 steps per inch.

More
01 Oct 2020 00:18 #184438 by kfashby2020