intro and breakout board questions

More
11 Nov 2020 13:55 - 11 Nov 2020 14:08 #188995 by measuretwice
Hello,

Another Linux CNC beginner here. Some forums like an intro; Live in Toronto, have been very active with metal working for 25 years, have a design build/fabrication business, like to make model engines, tooling and recondition machines for fun. I mess with a bit of electronics (not very good), have written a lot of articles for Home Shop Machinist and am learning how to repair and service watches and clocks.

An embarrassing long time ago I bought a Bridgeport Series 1 rigid ram cnc mill. The idea was to remove all the old electronics and steppers and update with modern servos. I bought a package of used Yaskawa controllers and servos (bought 4 to so as to have a 4th axis) and servos, adapted them to each axis, and have slowly been chipping away at the project

I've pretty much decided linux cnc is the way to go. I almost went with the Centroid Acorn but the licensing and limited software was a real turn off. Mach 4 sounded pretty good but I disliked the tying software to the PC, so here I am.

Aside from a bunch of PITA cable making, I'm nearing completion and need a ethernet break out board. I believe the Yaskawa controllers just require a step and direction input. I see the Mesa's are frequently recommended. Other requirements ....4 axis, estop, limit switches (I guess that is fairly standard), encoder input from spindle, control the motor VFD and a decent pendant.

I'd love to hear your suggestions on a board and pendant (do they typically run off the break out board, or get plugged into the PC?) or any other beginner advice.

Thanks!

Mike
Last edit: 11 Nov 2020 14:08 by measuretwice.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Nov 2020 14:06 #188998 by tommylight
Welcome to the dark side ... or the bright side, depending on how you look at it ! :)