2nd BP Control System Retrofit

More
21 Dec 2020 01:11 - 21 Dec 2020 01:25 #192589 by JackW327
Thanks to multiple posters here and on the Facebook group. Gave me all the info I needed to cobble together what I think will be a good hardware package. Very much appreciated. I'm making the move from Mach3 to LinuxCNC on my now like +/-15 year old BP Series II conversion. I'm not a total NOOB but I haven't gutted the machine in a while so ... good to see so much help here, still.

So why the switch? I'll keep it short unless there are questions. My control hardware is showing its age. I've had problems with parts that a closed loop system would have either compensated for or faulted on. As long as I'm gutting the cabinet, pretty much, I may as well go to software that's inherently more reliable. I've also had a couple positive Linux experiences over the years so that's not so daunting anymore.

On the way to me now
  • Dell Optiplex 980 -w- 128GB SSD & 16GB RAM upgrade (Amazon)
  • Mesa 7i95 & ENYC encoder repeaters
  • Gecko G320X's

• The current Mach control rig looks like this:
  • Dell PowerEdge 530C -w- Mach3
  • 70V 1.6KW homebrew linear power supply (115V - 50V toroids), the 245V AC I get from PG&E makes 73V DC
  • Sound Logic BOB [by Bob Campbell]
  • Gecko G320 servo drives
  • 1/3 hp 100V NEMA 34 Reliance Micro 100 motors on Y & Z, HEDS encoders
  • 3/4 HP 120V NEMA 43 Reliance Micro 100 motor on X, HEDS encoder (recent motor upgrade)*

• *For some reason on my machine it has always been "harder" to move the X than Y. Not sure if this is the case with Bridgies in general.

Sticking with Gecko because:
    Gecko has always been there for me and the community, good organization.
    My cabinet is kinda cozy and the Geckos are very compact.
    They work!