Which file types Can I import into linux cncFro

More
05 Feb 2021 12:34 #197737 by john11668
So I am relatively new to CNC having built a hobby mill and converted a desktop lathe .
On the lathe i am trying to convert over to linux and I am using the gmocappy screen. I can jog in all directions , home ,and open the auto screens , I can control the machine under MDI but I am having difficulty with importing files to try.

I have a number of files which I created in mach using their wizards , and which all performed OK using Mach3 in auto mode .
Now I know that Gcode files are all in effect text files, and that post processors will create differences depending upon the system they are to be used in, but if I have a proven bit of code in Mach, can I save it with a file extension which will be acceptable to load into linuxcnc

Failing this is there a simple Cad program with a pp which will let me generate code files in Windows which I can then import into Linux.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Feb 2021 14:37 #197749 by Clive S

Mach, can I save it with a file extension which will be acceptable to load into linuxcnc

Linuxcnc will accept .txt file and .ngc etc. Just rename your file extension

Most simple mach3 files should work fine

More
05 Feb 2021 17:01 #197759 by john11668
Thanks Clive
I see that you get around too! ;)

Mach, can I save it with a file extension which will be acceptable to load into linuxcnc

Linuxcnc will accept .txt file and .ngc etc. Just rename your file extension

Most simple mach3 files should work fine

This is nice to hear as I find the wizards on other platforms very useful at this early stage in my progress.
Unfortunately I am also having difficulty understanding the file handling of linux.

I have transported a few files on a memory stick. When I plug it in i can see the contents and seem to be able to see and move the files to limited locations like desktop and documents .