Newb retrofit question

More
17 Oct 2021 19:28 #223409 by Ricoch3T
Hello, 
     I have acquired an older (mid 90's) industrial cnc plasma table. I got everything working and had the control doing whatever preset shapes were installed on the old DNC 2.8 controller before it was taken apart and moved. What I want to do is retrofit a different control to this machine using as much of the existing parts as possible. I'm new to cnc other than what i've read on 3d printers and whatever info I've picked up fooling with this plasma. 
So far I'm thinking of going with Linux CNC as the controller.
I *think I need some kind of control card to talk to the servos. mesa? (do I need just 1 or one for each servo?) 
I'm not positive I need a power supply yet. I believe I can take the one out of the old DNC control box and reuse it. Suggestions? 

I have no idea about height control yet. I don't believe this has height control so I may want to integrate that. 

I want to be able to program custom shapes for cutting. Pretty much what most of the newer plasma cutters seem to do. So I'm open to suggestions on which direction to go. 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2021 20:45 #223415 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Newb retrofit question
First you need to figure out what type of control the drives require, most probably +-10V, but that has to be confirmed before buying anything.
If they do work, i would not change them.
Do you have any schematics ?
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ricoch3T

More
17 Oct 2021 21:57 #223419 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic Newb retrofit question
Linuxcnc would be a good solution to retain as much as you can but as Tommy said the drive type is what is required. If they are analog +-10v controlled, the Mesa 7i77 plus maybe some additional cards for extra IO. Or the newer 7i97 ethernet card. But lets visit that later when the drives are understood.