Migration from Mach3 for plasma

More
27 Jul 2022 17:42 #248436 by johnM
Hi,
I currently have a 5x5ft plasma cnc table running a Hypertherm 65A plasma with a Mach3 controller. Dell Optiplex, Win XP, Parallel port interface, Proma THC 150, Chinesium drivers, Nema23 steppers.
I'd like to upgrade the controller to LinuxCNC, mainly for having Linux running on the machine, being able to send files over the network etc. Every other computer at the shop runs linux as well, so this is the only one left on win.
It seems like there are not too many plasma users running linuxCNC, can I expect similar performance to what I have right now running Mach3?
I'd like to use Xenomai for the rt os, since I have some prior experience with it. Not picky about linux distro, but would prefer rh/fedora/centos with KDE.
Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jul 2022 18:40 #248443 by Todd Zuercher
(I don't have a plasma machine) But there are a number of people here running plasma with Linuxcnc, and the impression I've gotten is that it can be quite good at it.

However my opinion is your distro preference will make installation quite unnecessarily difficult. Not that it can't be done, but neither Fedora or Xenomai are officially supported. (But the desktop environment shouldn't matter.) I would strongly encourage you to try Debian or a Debian based distro. With the easiest install being using one of the official iso's available here with Linuxcnc and the required real time kernels already set up. That said I would be very tempted to install Debian Testing (Bookworm) and then install Linuxcnc from the Debian Repos.

More
27 Jul 2022 19:01 #248444 by spumco
can I expect similar performance to what I have right now running Mach3?

Yes, or better.  I'm not running LCNC plasma, but I've been (silently) following the development and refinement of Qtplasmac for a while. I suspect LCNC is a far superior motion control system to Mach3 for plasma machines.