? - Machine Power Disengages Automatically

More
14 Oct 2010 02:59 #4669 by Paul
Hello,

I am just getting started with EMC2.4/Ubuntu 10.4. Fresh install from downloaded .iso on a five year old ASUS motherboard, AGP video card. When I first got the stepper motors wired/adjusted, I ran a few smaller jobs to see if the whole thing was working and all seemed well. Now, the machine power <F2> goes off on it's own. Seemingly randomly. The power can go off after only a few seconds or after a minute or two. I don't have to be running anything, axis can be homed, not homed, keyboard/mouse unplugged (after pressing <F2>). So far nothing seems to help. I have no other programs running. I can press <F2> again, but it isn't long and the power gets turned off. The E-stop switch does not trip on it's own at anytime unless I press the actual switch. I have started EMC from a terminal window wondering if I could get any error messages, but nothing prints to the terminal.

Is there any condition which would shut the machine power down by design? Maybe for safety? Or is pressing the F2 key supposed to be the only way to power down the machine?

Thanks in advance for any insight or direction.

Paul

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Oct 2010 10:19 #4673 by Rick G
Hello Paul,

You can activate machine power F2 with Hal from different devices. What configuration are you using, what break out board?
You can look at show machine to tell if the signal has been connected to a device. Go to Machine / Show Hal Configuration.
If it is connected to a device that you do not want to use you need to edit the file.

Rick G

More
14 Oct 2010 20:14 #4683 by Paul
Hi Rick,