Interpolator programmed stops

More
24 Aug 2022 08:53 - 24 Aug 2022 08:54 #250309 by arabel1a
Hi there ! I'm using LinuxCNC on a punching machine. Among others, it should have a 'scissors' mode (also called 'nibbling'). In this mode, in any moving command (like G1X123Y456) it should stop moving every time it goes specified distance, make a punch and continue. Due to some reasons i can not resolve this in CAD system.

What i want in brief:
If M-function  ( M123 PX ) was executed, than in every moving frame ( with G1 and G2 ) after moving for distance X, linuxcnc should stop moving, than toggle a halpin 'punch', wait for halpin 'punch-done' and repeat this until it reaches target position.
If another M-function (M124 ) was executed, than it should move normally without stops.

I haven't found any parameter  that will help me. So probably i should modify linuxcnc interpolator for my purposes. I'm new to linuxcnc sources. Please give me advice, which files i should look at. Interpolator? Trajectory planner? How thoose files are named and where they are located? Maybe there is a simpler way to resolve my problem?

If it's important, i use RIP linuxncn-dev 2.9 with trivkins kinematics on my machine.

Thank you,
arabel1a.
Last edit: 24 Aug 2022 08:54 by arabel1a.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2022 10:22 #250311 by tommylight
I know exactly what you are looking for as i have worked and programmed punch presses, but not sure how to implement that.
Using M codes might be doable but i would like to have it implemented as the Fanuc machines, so
Nib x100-x200
Should do a nibble from x100 to x200, but there are many variables there as the tool has to be chosen and depending on tool length/width the number of punches must be calculated, etc.
There are other nifty shortcuts like that, LAA or line at angle, Matrices with hole size/spacing/number of, etc.
Been quite a while, so a bit fuzzy on the other ones.