30degree clearance/deadzone when changing direction of axis

More
12 Sep 2022 11:14 #251730 by xlordofpainx
Hi, 
I am quite new to CNC and I am currently making a CNC from a manual mill while doing my masters degree.  I noticed that when I start spinning the ball bearing screw in the other direction ( change direction) there is a 30 degree deadzone  so basically my motor would spin thinking that the Mill head is changing direction and location but it would create an error. 

ON the Z axis this problem is eliminated when I attach the mill head (100kgs) which pulls all the bolts and plates holding it  down thus eliminating the clearances. BUT my X and Y are on the plate underneath and there is no way to use the same trick there as there is no weight to be added which would tighten the connection between the plate and motor( all the bolts plates metal parts holding it)

My first ideas was - okay can I add a laser distance sensor to measure the X Y Z location at all times disregarding the need to track the motor position with its sensors. I still don't know if this is possible.

What do you think of this problem. Can I fix it in the software? Can I fix it with distance sensors? Can I fix it mechanically(probably can if everything can be made much tighter with no "give"/"clearance", but I doubt I can make it better)? (I have not yet started using the linux cnc software hence am still unaware of all the magic is capable of)

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2022 15:32 #251742 by arvidb
What you're describing is called backlash. You want to minimize it mechanically as much as possible through preloading.

If you cannot do that, it is possible to use an absolute sensor of some kind (usually a linear encoder) to help compensate the issue. You still need (velocity) feedback from the servos to be able to control them, and the servo tuning gets tricky.