Sanity Check Beginner

More
18 Nov 2023 02:45 #285793 by SyntheticApertureRadar
Howdy,

I'm new to CNC but familiar with Linux/Servers.

I'm have an old Australian made drill press I'm in the process of restoring. I have to replace the motor.

As a beginning project I'd like to control a 3 phase 2hp induction motor with a vfd through linuxcnc. It's an induction motor so I'm really just after controlling the speed with the vfd through linuxcnc. I've got an old homelab server I'm using. I'm intending to buy a 7i96s (Was going to be a 7i76e but no one seems to have any in stock) to connect via ethernet to the pc and control the speed of the motor.

As far as I'm aware, I believe this will work, however before I buy the board, can someone with a bit more confidence and experience in linuxcnc confirm that it will work? (I'm intending to use the 7i96s to initially get this project running, then will eventually take it out and replace it with something cheaper to fulfill the drill press needs permanently. While keeping the 7i96s to play with in other machines.)

Have I missed anything? Will this work?

Cheers,
Tom

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Nov 2023 06:19 - 18 Nov 2023 06:33 #285797 by timo
Replied by timo on topic Sanity Check Beginner
I did not do it just going by info I find:

The card can do analog spindle control. Quote: "an isolated analog output is provided for spindle speed control."

And it is listed in Pncconf Wizard, so I would be confident that it does work.

On the other hand:
I doubt that you need anything external for a drill press.
If the inverter (VFD) is not super crude it will have all necessary inputs and outputs for a drill press on board.
RT(F)M of the inverter! (if you do not have a manual, get another inverter! ) . If you just want to play with linux CNC, the inverter and the card, you will have to do the read up anyway.