Setup for encoder feedback

More
01 Feb 2024 10:21 - 01 Feb 2024 10:24 #292130 by Bambusbjoern
Hi everyone,

I'd like to add encoder feedback to my cnc and not sure how to best tackle the whole thing.
currently im running open loop with a 4-axis_TB6560 Stepper driver, but i got to change that anyway cause the x-drivers is toast (no clue why, powered up the next day and dead) driving 3 nema23 bipolar 3Nm steppers and 4th axis some time(would like to integrate it once the whole system is overhauled) and my spinle is a 4kw HF one, driven by a VFD controlled via 0-10V without feedback (would like to add that as well).
I'm completely new to that whole mesa stuff and not that well versed with linux. (but got a bit more than the basics of python, and serveral other programming languages)
So my question is:
-Should i buy 4 new closed loop drivers or go for encoder feedback via mesa card (i currently only use the pcs p/port and a p/port pci card)?
If closed loop driver:
-Which should i get (the choice too is overwhelming)?
If mesa's the way to go, thats opening a whole new box of questions:
-What do i have to get for that setup?
-Is the mesa 5i25t a viable option (cause available and got pci on my board)?
-Do I need berakout boards?
-If yes, is the C10 or the cheapo chinese "Mach3 Breakout board" a viable choice (cause i already have one of each)?

Thanks in advance
Greetings Lukas
Last edit: 01 Feb 2024 10:24 by Bambusbjoern. Reason: added current spindle setup

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Feb 2024 14:38 #292137 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Setup for encoder feedback
In general systems with feedback to LinuxCNC are more complex to setup
so unless there is a major benefit (say with linear scales) I would just use standard
step/dir drives, The 5I25T will work with your existing breakout boards.

Encoder feedback on the spindle is useful for things like rigid tapping.