How to read the source of the LinuxCNC?

More
03 Mar 2024 13:49 #295042 by wuxiaoke
Hi every one:
    I'm new to the linuxCNC and I'm  interested in is.I want to know its code architecture. Especially how to communicate with Ethercat. My current progress is that I can compile this code through the console on Debian. But I am still confused about the architecture of the source code.
    Here is my specific question:
    1. Which IDE do you use? Cause I was used to be a windows developer, I am just familiar with Visual Studio.
    2. Is there any docs for developer guide? Although here is some docs in package, but they seems like told us how to use linuxCNC.
    3. How to debug the source code? I want to debug the code, make the break point to know how the data circle around the system.

Thanks a lot!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Mar 2024 14:36 #295051 by andypugh
Different developers use different things.

Some use vi.
I use Geany.

Others do use actual IDE's.

Breakpoints would probably be achieved with gdb, and some IDEs can automate that.

Note that you can't typically breakpoint realtime code.

linuxcnc.org/docs/stable/html/code/code-notes.html might help (but is a bit out of date)

The system is complicated, with two process running in tandem, realtime and non-realtime. The G-code interpreter runs non-realtime and creates a queue of commands to be processed by the realtime code.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ErrickW, wuxiaoke

More
03 Mar 2024 18:00 #295068 by zz912
If you are a complete beginner in LCNC, I recommend studying HAL:
linuxcnc.org/docs/stable/html/hal/intro.html

If you don't understand HAL, there is no point in studying LCNC source codes.

If you are mainly interested in EtherCAT, then the HAL issue will be enough for you. A deeper study of LCNC is only necessary if you want to make your own GUI or if you want to fix a bug or making some individual stuff.

To understand CORE LCNC you must study: