LinuxCNC vs Klipper

More
24 Jun 2024 14:18 #303694 by cncproject2024
Hi, I am new to CNC and have been tasked with designing and building a CNC adhesive dispenser that will eventually be integrated in a ROS environment alongside a robotic arm. I was wondering if it would be easier to run an adhesive dispenser through a LinuxCNC or Klipper and additionally, what one would be easier to integrate with ROS.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Jun 2024 15:49 #303699 by jimmyrig
Replied by jimmyrig on topic LinuxCNC vs Klipper
So many questions.....

Why ros? Linuxcnc can do everything (robot and tape dispenser) and takes a few days to setup at most ...
imo ros is not very good.... So clumsy and bloated.... Takes forever to get anything done.... Seems faster to just code things from scratch....But maybe my brain is too smooth to understand it.

Imo if you are using it industrially use linuxcnc with a mesa board (7i96s prob) or a PLC. If it's for fun use whatever you want (klipper, rasp pi, 3x printer boards, etc). Raspberry pis are typically not as reliable as a PC with a mesa board.
The following user(s) said Thank You: DPFlex

More
24 Jun 2024 16:15 #303701 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic LinuxCNC vs Klipper

Linuxcnc can do everything (robot and tape dispenser) and takes a few days to setup at most ...
imo ros is not very good.... So clumsy and bloated.... Takes forever to get anything done.... Seems faster to just code things from scratch...

I have to agree with that.
Have not looked at ROS in several (probably over 10) years, but i did not like anything about it, it was one of the many "does everything under the sun" that actually did nothing without investing humongous amounts of time and effort, no idea what state it is in now and frankly i do not care.
As i use Klipper and LinuxCNC daily, and install and setup both weekly, i can officially state this:
They are not in the same planet!