Linuxcnc on my machine?

More
14 Jul 2024 21:49 #305175 by Linuxcncnoob
Hello.
I am running or trying to run an Avid cnc router and plasma combo with rotary.
After 3 years of messing with this and replacing 3 pc's and multiple install I can confidently say that Mach4 is garbage. Machine is solid.
I am looking into replacing the electronics for either Uccnc or Linuxcnc. In the future build a plasma only table running either Linuxcnc or Myplasm cnc because from what I see both of these have a better way to recover a failed cut than Uccnc and Mach4.

Now I have 3 available pc's i5 4th gen 8gb hdd, i7 4th gen 20gb hdd and i5 11th gen 16gb ssd. are all these 3 a good choice for Linuxcnc?

Is Debian 12 good for Linuxcnc? I am a total noob on Linux ...I am using right now an old toshiba laptop that could not run windows and running Linuxmint smoothly but more than a month struggling to boot up from hd :/ still booting from usb.

I was advised on a Mesa 7196s+THCAD2  but I need to drive 6 motors...1 for the rotary...I was so fed up with Mach4 that I did not even bothered to use the rotary.
What to do in this case?
going from Mesa to the motor drivers do I need a breakoutboard?
Which values would I need from Mach4 to use in Linuxcnc?
Is Linuxcnc is good with probing?

My plan is to install Debian on one of my old desktop and install Linuxcnc uspace to test the simulation.
One thing I do not understand about Linux terminal....If I install from the terminal which version does it install?

Let me know If I am in the right direction here....I am trying to make parts not trying to make the machine run.

Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jul 2024 22:10 #305176 by Bari
Replied by Bari on topic Linuxcnc on my machine?
The new LCNC install ISO was just released. Using this is usually the easiest way to test the PC in question.

linuxcnc.org/downloads/

DD the iso to a flash drive and boot from it. Run the latency test.