Question regarding shielding

More
07 Aug 2024 03:44 - 07 Aug 2024 04:22 #307138 by arijitdutta
Hi all,

This is my first time playing with electronics. I had almost zero knowledge but during the last 3 months I understand quite a bit now. I was quite afraid of it (especially Linuxcnc, I was keeping Acorn ahead because of the ease) but I am quite enjoying it now. I have wired my lathe previously with a printer BOB and it ran successfully. Now I am getting it hooked with a mesa 7i96s card with nema 23 motors and a spindle encoder. Getting a mesa board here in India is quite hectic so I will ask some questions frequently so that I dont mess anything up. 

1. What are the 5V, GND pins on each stepper axis of the Mesa card used for?

2. I heard that you need shielded wires for steppers. So do I need to shield the pulse and direction wires from the mesa card to the drivers along with the wires from the drivers to the motor or just the latter is enough?

3. Even though I searched quite a bit about the enable signal of the drivers, I couldn't land on a decision on how to wire it. I understand that leaving it unconnected or having the pins low enables them and having them high disables them. I really dont want the steppers to be enabled all the time, maybe F1, F2 from Linuxcnc will disable-enable them. Any wiring suggestions?

4. There is a Frame GND on the Mesa card. Do I need to ground it?

Thanks in advance..

EDIT: I now understand what the 5v and GND is for on the mesa stepper axis segments. I somehow missed it on the manual..
Last edit: 07 Aug 2024 04:22 by arijitdutta.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Aug 2024 22:02 #307225 by csutke
Replied by csutke on topic Question regarding shielding
Shielding can be a very deep topic but basically you can
1: Shield the wires (hopefully very short and not near high power/motor wires, can be challenging to debug/verify)
2: Use differential signals, routed together, ideally with a twisted pair