How to add user kinematics for 5 axis bridge mill?

More
14 Aug 2024 11:01 #307708 by winyk
Hello, I am a beginner trying to learn LinuxCNC. Recently, I have asked a question about custom kinematics here . With helps from Aciera, I managed to make my first (and very simple) custom kinematics model. Now, want to learn about a more complicated feature in LinuxCNC: the switchable kinematics. So, I started this new topic hoping that someone will me get started with this. I would like to point here that not only that I am new to LinuxCNC, but I am also new to CNC as well, so please bear with me if I ask dumb questions. 

Right now, I want to implement a user kinematics model for the 5axis.ini (located at /linuxcnc-2.9.1/configs/sim/axis/vismach/5axis/bridgemill
/). What I understand from the doc page on switchable kinematics  is that for any configuration, there can be up to 3 kinematics model, where type 0, 1, and 2 typically correspond to default, identity, and user-defined kinematics, respectively. Also, what I learn from the doc is that I can switch between kinematics models using these funny M codes: M428, M429, and M430.

I have found 5axis.ini to be a good place to experiment with because the configuration already comes with the three remapped M codes (I have no idea how to add them myself.) I have also played with the configuration a bit in AXIS, switching between default and kinematics type. From what I observed, type 0 is TCP kinematics, type 1 is the identity kinematics, and type 2 is also identity (Presumably it is not yet defined.) The problem is I don't know where the user kinematics definition is located for 5axis.ini. Peaking into the configuration file only lead me to 5axiskins.c, which I believe does not contain any information about the user kinematics.