how to recompile a linuxcnc directory?

More
21 Aug 2024 15:27 #308302 by Thayloreing
Hello my friends, I made some changes to create some pins in the halui.cc file that I acquired on github, but I have no idea how to recompile it so that the changes are children, could anyone help me? Maybe give a step-by-step guide on how I can recompile. thank you in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Aug 2024 17:10 #308320 by Aciera
If you want to modify the source code you would need to clone the source code and build linuxcnc locally on your machine (called a 'Run In Place' or 'RIP' installation):
linuxcnc.org/docs/master/html/code/building-linuxcnc.html

More
21 Aug 2024 18:24 #308329 by Thayloreing
and there is no way to just compile this file? just building Linuxcnc from scratch? I'm not very experienced with this, I thought maybe it wouldn't even compile a component, but apparently it's more complicated than I imagined it would be.

More
21 Aug 2024 18:41 #308332 by Aciera
I'm not a expert but to compile this file it needs to link all the #includes so I don't see how that would work without the source code.

In any case doing a RIP installation is not really such a big deal. I work pretty much exclusively with locally built installations, getting all the required build dependencies can be a bit tedious but once you've got past that it's really quite simple.

More
22 Aug 2024 00:14 #308352 by rodw
The build system should just build what you have changed.

More
22 Aug 2024 01:21 #308357 by Thayloreing
I'm going to study the manual, but I've never done it, I'll probably have several questions as I go along, I ask you to be patient with me, but I thank you for taking the time to answer

More
23 Aug 2024 14:56 - 23 Aug 2024 15:01 #308467 by mighty_mick
There are rules in files named 'Makefile'. You can consider to learn how make works. To compile only halui, just do these steps below:

1. Go to your project directory