Advice on Mesa cards for 6 axis servo motors

More
28 Sep 2017 10:58 #99545 by Marcodi
Hi,

I have to buy hardware cards for a machine that is running with 6 drivers leadshine el5-d1000. (XYZ + rotary on spindle A axis + rotary on the table B- axis. ) Y axis has 2 motors like usual.

As I still have to order the cards , I would really like to know your opinions which cards would be best suitable and most easy to configure and most easily be connected to the drivers.

The connection to this driver is not step/dir and finished. There are like 44 pins connectors

I am a complete noob (as you might have guessed from previous posts) but learning every day.

Link to the wiring manual for el5 drivers page 18.:
www.americanmotiontech.com/upload/Manuals/el5-dm_v1.0.pdf

Hopefully someone here is working with the same drivers. I would like to get a lot better motion out of these drivers and motors than I currently do with mach3.

Thanks for your help .

Stephane

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Sep 2017 14:59 - 28 Sep 2017 15:00 #99556 by Todd Zuercher
If you are running them with Mach3, then you are using them with step/dir signals. The reason the connector has 40+ pins is to accommodate all the possible optional configurations the drive supports. That doesn't mean they are all always used. (in fact the manual states 8 of the pins aren't even populated and are never used)

You need to decide on how you want to connect to these things, before hardware can be suggested.
Do you want to have encoder feedback?
Do you want to continue with step/dir commands, or use analog? (Analog control requires encoder feedback.)

There are far too many options available, you need to narrow the field by answering the above questions.
Last edit: 28 Sep 2017 15:00 by Todd Zuercher.

More
28 Sep 2017 23:26 #99592 by Marcodi
Hi Todd, thanks for your reply... It's just the help I need.