7i76e with 7i85S to control 9 steppers

More
17 May 2018 00:55 #110799 by cogzoid
Hello,

I've got a non-machining related robot and we're upgrading our 3 Arduinos running GRBL to a LinuxCNC/Mesa set up. I know it's not a perfect fit, but I'm hoping that I can utilize the LinuxCNC stuff to get us most of the way there. However, I'm new to LinuxCNC and FPGAs in general, and the learning curve is steep.

Here's where I'm at right now. I've got Linux 3.2.0-6-rt-686-pae running on my machine. I've set up the mesa board to be on 10.10.10.10 and can connect to it. I flashed the 7i76e_7i76x1_7i85sx1D.bit bitfile to the board.

However, I'm not sure how to set up the boards using PncConf wizard. I can set up the outputs of XYZAS, but I'm not sure how to set up the 7i85S Dir/Step ports. To be clear, I'm not sure if I should be using PncConf wizard at all.

I used mesaflash --readhmid to look at the ins and outs, and I can see all 9 Pulse/Dir pairs that I'll need. Any want to help point me in the right direction on how to get this all set up?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 May 2018 02:54 #110804 by PCW
I think I would use pncconf to make a config file set for a standard 7I76e and simple machine (say 3 axis mill)
as a starting point and then add the additional hal/ini file boilerplate for the added axis/joints to the
hal/ini files by copy pasting the existing per axis motion connections and renumbering them
(renumbering stepgens, joint/axis numbers etc etc)

More
17 May 2018 03:18 #110806 by cogzoid
Great. I'm able to copy/paste. I'll start familiarizing myself with the .hal and .ini files. Thanks.

More
17 May 2018 08:26 #110810 by rodw
In the hal examples section, I posted a complete working example of a 7i76e config using master branch. Its still on the top of the list of posts. I think from memory I gave up with pncconf and just took a similar working example and coded by hand.