Machinekit PnCConf

More
22 Dec 2018 22:26 #122761 by keefkontrol
Hey All,

I am a machinekit user. I am just getting started with my system (3 joint gantry, DM556 drivers, Mesa 7i76e, and an Intel J5005 running rt-patched stretch)
I have the card communicating via ping & get the correct mesaflash readhmi output. When I start pncconf with my vanilla machinekit build, the 7i76e is not available as a configuration option. My questions are twofold -

1) Does anyone have a quick solution in order to get up and running? Here BigJohnT mentions building a configuration based off of 5i25/7i76 and modifying. What would be the required changes?

2) Would it be worth it to trying to copy the linuxcnc versions and put them in their respective directories? What would be the proper way of updating the mk pncconf script to support the 7i76e out-of-the-box?

Thanks guys. I really appreciate all the help and support. I've always dug the tech community of open source software.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Dec 2018 14:34 #122782 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Machinekit PnCConf
If i remember correctly:
at the "loadrt hm2_pci......" has to be changed to "hm2_eth........" and the correct ip board address has to be added, and maybe all the references to 5i25.0.7i76 something to 7i76e, but i am not sure about the last part, it was nearly 2 years ago.

More
28 Dec 2018 18:46 #123028 by keefkontrol
Replied by keefkontrol on topic Machinekit PnCConf
I managed to get the linuxcnc version of pncconf to running by playing with the python module paths. I got it to run but none of the test windows worked, which was a real bummer. I also couldn't get the ini file to start via machinekit once the wizard configuration was complete :(
machinekit@debian:~/linuxcnc/configs/plasma_7i76e$ machinekit plasma_7i76e.ini
MACHINEKIT - 0.1
Machine configuration directory is '/home/machinekit/linuxcnc/configs/plasma_7i76e'