Step and direction spindle help needed

More
27 Feb 2012 07:40 #18116 by matttargett
Hi,

Im new to emc, im trying to convert from mach 3, i have a machine under mach control with a step / dir spindle, well actually its just a 1kw ac servo and i need to control it, i googled the subject and found some stuff about re connecting a stepgen in hal, i have a broad understanding of what that means, i configure my spindle as the a axis and then reconnect the stepgen so that when i issue a s1000 m03 those commands start the a axis moving, is that correct? Anyway really my question is i need help, i partially understand hal and i can see its power, particularly over and above brains in mach 3 but i really need to get on and use the machine at the moment so if someone could give directions for stupid people i would be very greatful, hopefully if i post what i did then in future it would be really easy for someone new to configure.

Thanks alot

matt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Feb 2012 09:07 - 27 Feb 2012 09:16 #18117 by cncbasher
you have it correct , set up the spindle as for A Axis , but change the stepgen control for that axis to v ( velocity mode ) and redirect the motor command to the Axis

you will need to add for example to a axis
...... stepgen.00.step_type 1
net Xmotor-pos-cmd => ... stepgen.00.position cmd to ... stepgen.00.velocity-cmd

i presume the servo drive also has an encoder fitted in that case , you will also need to add pid feedback
encoder.positon => A.motor-pos-fb

post you hal file and we can guide you through the process , as using stepconf will only get you part way , so you will end up hand coding the missing parts

i do not have a spindle running using step direction signals , so perhaps another forum member can post a snip of their hal file
which will assist

the approprate lines are ( supposing your A axis is stepgen 3)

net apos-cmd axis.3.motor-pos-cmd => stepgen.3.position-cmd