Quick Introduction

More
21 May 2012 08:19 #20238 by AJBecker
Quick Introduction was created by AJBecker
Hi

I wanted to introduce myself and couldn't find the appropriate forum (didn't look amazingly hard though). My name is Andrew Becker and I'm a Mechanical Engineering student (3rd year). I've just finished converting a Kondia FV-1 to cnc using steppers and LinuxCNC and so far have been very impressed with the level of completion of the software and am having a lot of fun. I am a Linux user as of last year when Windoze stopped accepting my legally purchaced licence so the transition was fairly easy. I have had a couple of minor issues which I've worked through (and one which I haven't as of yet) and have a whole lot of questions to ask but I will try put them each in the appropriate forum. I have also begun writing a bit of code to convert .stl files to 5 axis code specifically focused of cylinder head porting ... see my pic :) ... and I'm hoping to finish it as a part of my thesis. I'm looking forward to getting to know the community and hopefully contributing to the effort.

Cheers

Andrew

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 May 2012 10:50 #20240 by Rick G
Replied by Rick G on topic Re:Quick Introduction
Hello and welcome to the world of LinuxCNC.

I have also begun writing a bit of code to convert .stl files to 5 axis code specifically focused of cylinder head porting

Cool.

Rick G

More
21 May 2012 11:24 #20242 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Re:Quick Introduction
Welcome to the forum. Do you have any photos of your conversion?

John

More
21 May 2012 11:43 #20245 by AJBecker
Replied by AJBecker on topic Re:Quick Introduction