Syil X7 PLUS Settings

More
12 Mar 2014 18:49 - 12 Mar 2014 18:51 #44733 by leapingfrog
Hi,

I'm new to using Linuxcnc with a X7 PLUS, just got it. I've managed to gain control of the XYZA axis and can set the spindle and all seems well. However I cannot move the machine at normal speeds because i'm struggling to set the parameters correctly. Please could somebody advise upon these settings, they are as follow :

No idea what driver type i should be using since in the manual for the X7 it just says step driver proprietary :sick:

So if i set the driver type as "other" what values should i use for :

Step time (ns)
Step Space (ns)
Direction hold (ns)
Direction Setup (ns)

Then for the x,y,z axis

What should the leadscrew pitch be set too ?

Then finally what should the the driver microstepping be set too ?

Many Thanks I look forward to the day i can mill out that example Tux !!! :woohoo:
Last edit: 12 Mar 2014 18:51 by leapingfrog.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Mar 2014 20:10 #44734 by ArcEye
Replied by ArcEye on topic Syil X7 PLUS Settings
Hi

The Mach xml is available here
www.syilamerica.com/machine_x7plus.php
except it is imperial and I suspect you want metric

The Syil site is awful, all the links are dead or just give 404 errors

As you already have axis and spindle control sorted, we should be able to quite easily reverse engineer your config from those setting

The imperial setting for all axes is 10160, this equates exactly to a SCALE of 400

Zip up your config folder and attach it and I will reset the ini file etc and see how you get on with that

regards

More
12 Mar 2014 20:44 #44735 by leapingfrog
Replied by leapingfrog on topic Syil X7 PLUS Settings
Hi ArcEye,

I've attached the config file. I totally agree that syil should update there site and get those links working.

Yes i got the scale of 400 but it's the rest I'm totally confused about, especially the driver type :S

Thanks for taking a look