Homing setup problems

More
07 Sep 2014 05:52 #50870 by vtcnc
Homing setup problems was created by vtcnc
I'm new to LinuxCNC but have been using TurboCNC for a year with this same 3 axis mill.

The mill is xyz gantry style (no moving table), using 3 total steppers,

I've read the Getting Started manual, and have followed along through stepconf. I have the axes moving, and in the correct directions.

There are 2 limit switches on the X and Y axes, and one limit switch at the top of the Z axis. The limit switches on a single axis are wired in series, and they go open (low) when tripped. The 3 axes take up 3 pins on the parallel port, one for each axis.

I have chosen "Both Limit + Home X" and "Both Limit and Home Y" and "Minimum limit Z"

I have moved the X and Y axes to the limit switch near 0,0 on the machine (lower lft corner) but not on the switch.

I need help understanding and setting the Home location, Table travel, and Home switch location settings. I have read the manual, but still don't quite get it.

I've tried for example (X axis):

Home location 0.1
Table travel 0.0 to 22.0
Home switch location 0.0

But it doesn't work. As soon as I Home the axis the axis begins to travel to the right from 0,0,0 increasing in X until I manually stop it.

How do I get the home position to be at the lower left of the table?

Thanks for your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Sep 2014 09:26 #50871 by vtcnc
Replied by vtcnc on topic Homing setup problems
Thinking about it -- is it possible that the table travel should be reversed for a moving gantry style mill? ie 22" to 0" instead of 0" to 22"? Does the stepconf program assume a moving table?

More
07 Sep 2014 14:04 #50875 by Rick G
Replied by Rick G on topic Homing setup problems
Have you read this?
www.linuxcnc.org/docs/2.4/html/config_ini_homing.html

Try changing the sign of
HOME_SEARCH_VEL

Table travel 0.0 to 22.0