Encoders setup

More
06 Aug 2016 21:46 - 06 Aug 2016 23:14 #78419 by barsam
Encoders setup was created by barsam
Hello Everyone.

This is my first post at the forum as I am new to the world of linuxcnc.
Lately I converted an Optimum BF20 to CNC and while I had setup everything to work with Mach3, as this is the software I have used for my other CNC machines, I decided that it was time to try linuxcnc for this one.
Since all the electronics were already there, I decided just to swap the smoothstepper with a Mesa 7i80 board.
So the setup at the moment is: 7i80 as a controller, PMDX-126 as a breakout board, and a C53 from CNC4PC as an encoder’s board.
I have used the C53 for my CNC router and I am very happy with it, so that is why I got this one again.
For encoders I have used some self-made boards using the AS5311 IC and magnetic strips.
So far I have managed to make a custom firmware for the mesa board to use the existing boards and the PDMX-126 seems to be fully functional. But after straggling for couple of days, I was not able to get a feedback from the encoders board.
I have checked everything related to hardware and all looks fine. The encoder board is pulsing at the controller side (checked with oscilloscope), so the problem is either the firmware of 7i80 or the setup of linuxcnc.
I have run out of ideas and since this HAL setup thing is totally new to me, I will need some help from experts.
Attached I have the VHD file (changed to txt extension) of my custom firmware and the HAL file of the linuxcnc setup.

File Attachment:

File Name: BF20.hal
File Size:14 KB

File Attachment:

File Name: PIN_PDMX_C53_68.txt
File Size:12 KB
Attachments:
Last edit: 06 Aug 2016 23:14 by barsam.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Aug 2016 23:46 #78421 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic Encoders setup
Sounds like a wiring issue of some kind, i would check that the encoder a,b,index pins change as expected