New to CNC, Sherline Mill User

More
30 Mar 2017 03:22 #90543 by ceaves
Ok, please pardon my total ignorance.

Bought a new Sherline ready to rock CNC setup. Loaded up the CNC software and played with the manual controls, came back inside to do some reading on the auto part of it and was lost. Finally figured out that the "Sherline Mill Inch" was TKLinux GUI, and that looks like one of the least popular GUIs.

Anyways been doing some reading, finally figured out how to home each axis and can run some of the loaded programs.

I guess my question is offsets and homing. Like I said I'm totally new to CNC and I'd rather not tear stuff up right off the bat.

Is there any certain place to home the axis, or does it depend on the file, like dead center or left rear position, or..........

How about offset, do I need to touch the stock with the tool and Home Z, or???

I can find very little info on the TK GUI, maybe I'd be better off switching to a more popular one??

Thanks for listening :)

Chris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Mar 2017 03:41 #90544 by ceaves
Found this wiki
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gui/mini.html

Maybe that'll solve my problems....

More
30 Mar 2017 09:25 #90554 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic New to CNC, Sherline Mill User
Homing is well covered here
linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/config/ini-homing.html

Take the time to understand the diagrams.

More
30 Mar 2017 10:54 #90557 by ceaves
Thank you.

More
30 Mar 2017 15:43 #90572 by andypugh

Is there any certain place to home the axis, or does it depend on the file, like dead center or left rear position, or.......

There are two separate but linked concepts. Homing is the process whereby the computer finds where the ends of the physical axes are, so it can avoid going off the ends. This gives the system an absolute reference related to the physical limits. Normally this uses limit-switches, but there are other ways.