More help with two steppers on one axis please

More
11 Jul 2017 10:08 #95650 by aaron
Hi
i have upgraded linuxcnc to 2.7.9 and almost configured my Router to run Gantry-hs with two steppers on the x axis gantry. I have a couple of major problems.
Homing, I can zig zag the gantry back close to the sensors and then run home on the individual joints, but I am not happy with this method there is too much wracking on the gantry. Please, can someone tell me how can I get the the joints to home at the same time.

When I jog individual axis in joint mode I get good fast movement. After homing all joints and switching to world mode when I try a fast jog of an axis I get a joint following error. Also, when I did a G0 command for the x axis ( the one with two motors) the diver for the 'A' axis, or joint 4, cut out with and error light. (worrying)

I am not good at editing files and would rather use some kind of configuration tool if it exists. Is it easier to do this in the 2.8 version? and how stable is it (this machine is my main business)

Thanks for any assistance

Aaron

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Jul 2017 14:43 #95669 by Todd Zuercher
Yes,
2.8 is stable from the regard that it works fine, and there are lots of people running machinery with it.
Often in the Linux community a development branch is refereed to as not stable, because it is in a state of flux, with new features continually being added and developed.
It means that if you perform a software update, you could introduce a change that could break your configuration or introduce a bug. This is the case with Master (2.8-pre)
It does not mean that the software will run in an unstable fashion and crash unpredictably.

So If you install Master and set up a configuration for your machine, and it works fine for your application, There is not much to fear. (so long as you don't update.)