Homing problems on Z-axis

More
18 Nov 2018 20:07 #120962 by jnp1968
Gents!

First off - i'm a total newbie to LinuxCNC but have been dreaming of owning a cnc mill for nearly 20 years.
So finally - I recently purchased a chinese 3040 mill/router and couldn't be happier.
I thought of it as an fast and cheap way to get started and learn something about this wonderfull world.
Before doing any actual work on it i installed and configured home switches on all three axis.
"Home" is set to be front left corner with Z all the way up - and got it working like a charm!

But this morning when moving the machine to a temporary box/enclossure something happened and i can't figure out what went wrong.
First of all the z-axis moved the wrong way i got the message "cannot unhome while moving joint 2" which i traced down to a broken wire on the Z-axis home switch.
But even now, with the home switch working again, LinuxCNC does not recognize it when homing.
It just moves past it and rams the z-axis right into the top - Not a nice sound, i might add!
The home switches are all installed in NC mode and break the connection when triggered.
I can meassure the home switch breaking when the z-axis hits it, but this does not stop the axis from moving.
Only pressing F2 prevents the axis to hit the mounts but then i again get an "Cannot unhome while moving, joint 2" message.

My guess is that the the home switch signal is not received by LinuxCNC (damaged break-out board?), and to verify that i would like to learn about a method to read the input signals real-time.
Meaning seing the home switch signals change real-time.

I have tried using HAL Scope without succes,- that is, i can see the signals, but they don't change real-time.
I would be very happy if you could help me out here.

My ini file for this axis says:
[AXIS_2]
TYPE = LINEAR
HOME = 0.0
MAX_VELOCITY = 30.0
MAX_ACCELERATION = 200.0
STEPGEN_MAXACCEL = 250.0
SCALE = 400.0
FERROR = 1
MIN_FERROR = .25
MIN_LIMIT = -70.0
MAX_LIMIT = 0.001