Trouble receiving inputs over parallel port

More
03 Feb 2019 23:04 #125620 by F4br1c4t3D
LinuxCNC noob here looking fro some advice on setting up my first machine. I've built CNC machines on other platforms before so Im familiar with the basics but I've never interfaced via parallel port before.

I have a lathe, all wired up, steppers are working just fine. I have NPN inductive proximity switches as limit and home for X and Z They're receiving 24V from the PSU and an LED on the sensor illuminates when I wave metal at them. The black signal wire goes to one of the input pins and the ground goes to the common input ground on my BOB (One of these - bit.ly/2Gin2Pw). The BOB has 24v in so the optocouplers should be working. Reading the voltage between the ground pin and the sensor input pin shows it switching from 24v when no metal is present to 0v when metal is in range of the sensor. Reading the "computer side" of the optocouplers, I don't see a change in the voltage between the PC 5V ground and the optocoupler. I did get the signal to register on this side when I had pullup resistors on the optocouplers connected to PC 5V (from following tips from another thread on here) but ultimately the signal wasn't received by the PC. (Verified by watching the pins from within the halconfiguration utility run from within linuxCNC) After doing a bit more reading I removed them as it was suggested in another thread that they were only to go on that side of the optos to make the bob work with a specific mobo. I've also tried pullups on the machine side of the optos.