Trapezoidal home limit actuators (or not)

More
17 Aug 2020 15:55 #178483 by rootboy
Hi guys,

I'm helping a friend upgrade his Takamatsu lathe to LinuxCNC and his lathe has three limit switches per axis.

In order, they are:

1) Max overtravel.
2) Min overtravel.
3) Home.

We aren't totally in agreement on the Home limit actuator. It's shaped as a trapezoid, and it makes, and then comes off of, the actuator given its shape. Apparently its profile is designed intentionally to do this.

Thurston thinks it's used for slowdown only, which would allow the machine to speed back up just in time to hit the overtravel.

I'm an old Controls Engineer, and we would never use a slowdown actuator block that didn't maintain the slowdown limit until it got to the overtravel (well, not more than once, hopefully).

Being an island of its own out there adds to the confusion, is the homing sequence going to work in the case of the machine being between the home limit actuator and the overtravel actuator? Will it still work with the machine past the home limit actuator. In the first scenario the machine will hit the OT actuator first, and then back off until it hits the home limit actuator (I presume). In the second scenario the machine will hit the other slope of the home actuator first and then the OT actuator. Will that still work?

To add to the confusion, the Home limit switch (an Omron "Microswitch" design) gave up the ghost and is now on my desk waiting on its replacement. So I've been playing with the "Shared limit" homing sequence since I am currently without a working home limit switch on the X axis. And yeah, we will be replacing all six of them...