Rookie: Ethercat Servos wont budge...

More
11 Mar 2021 16:11 #201828 by thomaseg
Hi,

I'm completely new to LinuxCNC, so bear with me...

I have EtherCAT servodrives which uses DS402 and some beckhoff modules. I have everything working kinda: i can turn on/off the output modules and read input. I can read the position and state of the servo-drives. I can also turn on the servo-drive(=the drive "locks" the servoshaft)....but i cannot make it move, not even a bit....inside linuxcnc i enable the machine and tries to jog X-axis and nothing... i can see it says "velocity 17" or something similar on the screen when i job, but the servo does not move...

The setup is pretty basic. I've only got one axis for testing and i've tried a couple of things which seems to work for others. But nothing at all.... and it makes me wonder if i'm missing something basic in order to move the motor...?

I've just taken the basic axis-demo and modified the .hal and .ini to suite what i have, so nothing fancy. The ethercat_conf.xml matches DS402 and the manufacturers manual. All attached here...

Any pointers/help for a beginner like me would really help! Thanks!

/Thomas
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Mar 2021 17:03 #201831 by db1981
Hello,

first read on this page the message about execution order

forum.linuxcnc.org/24-hal-components/223...al-driver?start=1140

your hal file makes no sence in the actual state, reading from bus and directly written again, without any action. you have to think like an plc programmer.