How to change rotation stage configuration and move rotation point

More
25 Aug 2021 16:30 - 25 Aug 2021 17:03 #218717 by RékaM
TL;DR: How do I change which axes the rotation stages are rotating around, and how do I move the rotation point so the axis isn't necessarily going through the stage itself but is somewhat above it? Please try and explain as simply as you can if possible; I am pretty familiar with Python but unfamiliar with the libraries shown in the documentation.

I am trying to model a 5 axis machine (well 8 but I am not using the 3 tool rotation axes) using LinuxCNC. It has translational stages in X, Y, Z and goniometers that rotate around X and Y (with the X stage being on top of the Y stage.) These goniometers rotate around a shared rotation point which is a bit above the stage, they don't just rotate around axes through the stages themselves. I have never used LinuxCNC before and am kind of lost in the documentation, and the example robots always have rotation around Z which I don't want. I think maybe the "translate" function in Vismach could move my rotation point but I can't tell if it moves just the origin or the entire part. How can I model this? I don't care about the CAD model looking right, and I'm not going to use this to control an actual machine, I'm just trying to figure out if the transformations and coordinates I've worked out to trace the pattern I want with the tool at the angle I want actually work without risking messing up the real machine if I did something wrong.

I have figured out the G code and how to convert the coordinates from the simulation I made in Python into G code; I just am unclear on how to change the configuration of the simulated machine to match my machine's configuration. A lot of the documentation seems to assume you are very familiar with how milling machines work and it's hard for me to find the parts that are just about configuring the axes used in the simulation.