Help with vfd 0-10v wiring/conf

More
08 Apr 2022 16:26 #239679 by mart154
Hi,
you have probably had endless amount of these posts, but my google-fu has failed me. Help a total beginner!

Main characters in my problem: Chinese 6040 router, 1.5kW watercooled spindle with a built in vfd. Originally with usb controller replaced with chinese "5 axis breakout with relay" forum.linuxcnc.org/media/kunena/attachme...25994/5axisboard.jpg

Now, I got all the axes and limits/homing working, but I'm getting no joy with spindle control.
From the spindle side, I have four wires: "0-10V", "GND", "Spindle CW" and "10V" as i understand the "10V" is just 10V supply wire, so not needed for me.

Connected "0-10V" and "GND" to BOB-s pwm pins, and "Spindle CW" to Pin16.
Went through Stepcontrol wizard, set pin16 to "Spindle CW" and pin 1 to "Spindle PWM"

When I press the "make clocwise noise" button, I can see the frequency on the VFD changing, but no movement. Also the speed seems to be calibrated to 6000rpm, and I have no idea how to change that, even if it would work :)

Please help an idiot!
Cheers,
Mart

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Apr 2022 20:48 #239697 by tommylight

When I press the "make clocwise noise" button, I can see the frequency on the VFD changing, but no movement.

That usually means the VFD is in "local" control mode or the "run" pin is not active.
Se the manual on how to set the VFD to "remote" control mode, and check the pins that need to be active for "run" mode.

More
09 Apr 2022 05:52 #239711 by mart154
I just double checked. As far as my knowledge goes, I'm in "pc mode" what they call.

The "local" pot and start/stop buttons are disabled.
When I switch it over to the other (presumably "local") mode, then I can control the frequency manually and no freq change when commanded by the pc.

Thank you.

When I press the "make clocwise noise" button, I can see the frequency on the VFD changing, but no movement.