Jogging not working on basic setup

More
14 Aug 2024 19:08 #307731 by amitsa
I'm new to LinuxCNC and hobbyist machining.  For some reason, jogging isn't working on my 3 Axis setup. I feel like I'm just missing one critical configuration but can't figure it out.  I got homing to work from the Axis GUI, but jogging doesn't work. 

I've posted my INI files and HAL files.  I've only included X axis configurations for brevity.  Any tips ?

System Details
* Raspberry Pi 5 
* LinuxCNC 2.9.3
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Aug 2024 19:15 #307733 by tommylight
Attach the proper files, what are we supposed to do with crippled files?

More
14 Aug 2024 19:30 #307736 by amitsa
I posted the original hal and INI files.  But I'm not sure if there are other files you were referring to.  

Right now the files are for a 2 AXIS setup with a pair of Y joints.  I'm just trying to get jogging to work for these axis' before adding the Z axis.  
Attachments:

More
14 Aug 2024 19:39 #307738 by tommylight
Now the files are OK, the first round they were redacted and actually had a written line claiming that.
Files seem OK, so it should work, but i know it will not, forgot why as it was a long while ago, but i did manage to get it working, i think, i will have to check the configs of some small machines that only use 2 axis, later.

More
14 Aug 2024 20:30 #307740 by COFHAL
In the file. Ini include KEYBOARD_JOG=1

More
14 Aug 2024 20:51 #307746 by rodw
You need to follow the example for a MPG under hardware examples

More
14 Aug 2024 22:09 #307751 by amitsa
Thanks for the replies. @rodw Is the Gantry Panel example something you had in mind for an MPG ?(github.com/LinuxCNC/linuxcnc/blob/master...try/gantry_panel.hal)

Also I did some more investigation on the issue. I diffed all the pins before and after I click on the jog increment for the X axis. These are the pins that changed:

`motion.jog-is-active` : FALSE → TRUE