Configuring and calibrating EMC

More
17 Feb 2012 23:53 #17772 by Mofosheee
Dear Sirs:

I am new to CNC and Ubuntu EMC. I have successfully installed Ubuntu 8.04 and "tied" it to my machine. Please advise me / excuse me if I am on the proper board as I don't even know the right questions to ask at this time. I am using a 3 axis gantry router and would like to "set it up" properly and am wondering where to start with basic configuration and calibration of the machine. Thank you in advance.

Jerry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Feb 2012 01:04 #17775 by BigJohnT
If it is a stepper driven machine the Stepconif Wizard might be a good place to start. What have you done so far?

John

More
18 Feb 2012 09:24 #17785 by Rick G
Have you looked here?

www.linuxcnc.org/docs/EMC2_Getting_Started.pdf

I have successfully installed Ubuntu 8.04 and "tied" it to my machine

Do you mean you have everything connected and the axis all move and you need to calibrate them, or you have everything ready but need to create a configuration?

As John said Stepconfig can help you set the machine up or you can try one of the sample configurations that LinuxCNC comes with.

Rick G

More
18 Feb 2012 13:05 #17792 by Mofosheee
Yes, I have stepper motors. While at work I found time and printed the "getting started guide v2.4" that you referred to. When I get home this morning I'll take a shot at the configuration. I appreciate your assistance.

Jerry

More
18 Feb 2012 22:04 #17802 by Mofosheee
After I got home from work this morning I set up my machine as recommended under the Step Config Screen shots located in this link: probotix.com/cnc_downloads/ for the system that I have.

I am at a loss on how to continue with proper set up in that there exists; "V90 EMX2 Configs" that I have no idea on where and how to enter. Thank you in advance.

Jerry

More
18 Feb 2012 22:15 #17805 by Mofosheee