Linux and EMC2 Newbie - What to upgrade?

More
08 Jan 2019 19:12 #123786 by Eddie J
Hi everyone,

Im just starting out with CNC and have picked up a Taig Micromill (inch leadscrews) . Really liking it and think it is a perfect place to start, since i can gradually add things to my setup.

Problem I am having is trying to upgrade the Sherline computer which i got with it, to the latest Linux CNC.
Apparently it is running EMC2, which is the older version of Linux CNC.

But the "About" really does not help with telling me what version this is or anything

My OS is a little out of date also.
https://ibb.co/VBd4PvG

Does anyone have any advice on how to go about the best way to upgrade this setup to the latest version? Upgrading Linux first? Then doing a clean install of EMC2 - LinuxCNC ?

My CAD software Fusion360 is exporting Gcode which is too modern to use on the current EMC2, without a lot of edits and head scratching. Hence the need to upgrade :)

Eddie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jan 2019 20:18 #123794 by Todd Zuercher
That is a very old install.

The simplest route will probably be to download and install the current iso.

But before you start you should first back up your old system and save your machine configuration files so you can access them from your new install.

Next confirm that your old PC meats the minimum requirements for Debian 7 and test that it will have good enough latency (boot the live iso and run the latency test. ) If it checks ok, install and start checking the update changes that will need to be made to your config files.

More
09 Jan 2019 15:00 #123830 by Eddie J
Thanks Todd, I'll certainly take your advice and do a fresh install.

This Debain is better than Ubuntu? Or does it not really matter the OS for LinuxCNC?

First time using ISOs, good luck to me! Luckily my CAD is better than my OS management!

More
09 Jan 2019 16:06 - 09 Jan 2019 16:08 #123831 by Todd Zuercher