Need help installing LinuxCNC

More
10 Mar 2019 18:46 - 20 Mar 2019 21:49 #128264 by hvnfun2
I am having difficulty getting LinuxCNC. I cannot even get a "live" version going. I have never used LinuxCNC before so the installation is all new to me. I may be doing something wrong but I just can't figure it out.

I have a new computer and planned on triple booting Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04, and LinuxCNC. Windows and Ubuntu installation went without a hitch but I have been trying to get LinuxCNC going for a couple weeks now without success. I tried everything I can think of. I have tried creating a bootable USB from both windows and ubuntu as well as a bootable DVD. Nothing seems to work or be recognized. I have done the md5sum on the iso file and everything looks good. I even did an md5sum -c md5sum.txt to compare what was on the dvd to the md5sum.txt file and each and every file was ok.

When I create dvd or usb from ubuntu the bios does not recognize it and it does not show up as an option for booting. When I create it in Windows 10 it DOES show up in the boot list but it doesn't work.

I have looked for other posts and other sites for help in creating a valid boot dvd/usb and tried several things but still can't get anything to work.

One thing I noticed while doing all this is the newest date of a file on the DVD is Sep 5 2015 for the current release . That makes me wonder if LinuxCNC iso file is current? I see that LinuxCNC has been released on a regular basis in 2017 and 2018 but it looks like I got something older.

I downloaded the file from linuxcnc.org under the Download link as shown below.

1. Download the image
This section describes some methods for downloading the Live/Install Image.

1.1. Normal Download
Download the Live/Install CD by clicking here:

www.linuxcnc.org/linuxcnc-2.7-wheezy.iso

Is there somewhere else I need to get the iso file from?

Thanks
Don
Last edit: 20 Mar 2019 21:49 by hvnfun2. Reason: moved update to be a reply rather than an edit