Dual Boot Issues

More
18 Jan 2020 06:47 #155092 by Hazron
Dual Boot Issues was created by Hazron
Hello All,

A Newbie here, struggling a bit with the depth required to handle LinuxCNC but will give it a try. Impressed with the forum support and like the open source concept, and the power of LinuxCNC (if you can master it). Been reading heaps and watching many YouTubes and it's time to practice. I have a DOS based CNC bed mill and it needs a new control system.

I've a Dell 9020 USFF with a 480GB SSD running Win10Pro. I was hoping to keep W10 operating and run a Dual Boot system and there no other SSD slot in the small format machine for a second SSD. I've Live installed the recent Debian ISO and ran it OK. The Latency seems low (servo 8.8k & Base 13.3k) with 7 glxgears running. The $15 USB Wifi stick worked in Windows but not Linux as yet and no Lan here at present so couldn't load the system up via Youtube or the like. I'd guessed a bit and turned off a number of BIOS options (not WiFi) and disabled AMT as per PCW's suggestion on a post.

Anyway I tried a full install and the Lan was not recognized which is one issue. I see another reference to that problem on a post about installing Mint on a SFF 9020 Dell. I had teh same problem when I tried on very HP Vista desktop.

I'd previously partitioned one section of the SSD via the Windows Disk Management system with NTFS (only option). When I got to manual partition in the Debian install it showed the SSDisk OK but no partitions showed up so couldn't proceed without wiping W10. Tried searching the forum and the net but could't nail down this problem.

Any Ideas?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Jan 2020 13:19 #155095 by Leon82
Replied by Leon82 on topic Dual Boot Issues
I used to use easy bcd but it didn't work on win 10 for me

More
18 Jan 2020 15:06 #155099 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic Dual Boot Issues