VERY new user

More
10 Mar 2021 19:24 #201690 by clive
VERY new user was created by clive
I'm an experienced Linux user but brand new to LinuxCNC. I have been using Mach on an XP CNC machine for a number of years. The Mach based system crashed and I need to move on. I'm an artist and my work can be seen here: www.howe-mccarthy.com/ The work is all 2D on a 3-axis machine (there is an A channel) controlled via a parallel port. Most of my machines are running Linux Mint 20.1 with the 5.4 Kernel.

I have a few questions:
  • I have installed an old copy of LinuxCNC 2.7 but can I, or should I start with Mint 20.1 ? I'm using an old machine with an Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 / 2.2 GHz
  • What is the quickest and dirtiest way of configuring my Linux setup based on the Mach setup. I've followed the documentation and LinuxCNC seems to like the stepping data file from Mach but nothing moves. Is there another file that sets up the parallel port based on the Mach configuration ?

I'm sorry that this may seem as if I'm too lazy to RTFM but I did crack it open and quickly got lost. The use of the CNC machine is rather secondary to making art, though essential. I spend most of my effort writing code for a tool that generates our G-Code.

Clive.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Mar 2021 19:58 #201693 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic VERY new user
What do you mean by "there is an A channel"? Does that mean you have a 4th A-axis, or that you have a gantry machine with a slaved motor?

There are a number of reasons you might not have movement. First are you taking Linuxcnc out of e-stop and enabling it? (won't move until you do that.) Is Linuxcnc trying to move the motors, ie are the DROs indicating movement? Did you actually create and start a real config. or are you running a simulation? (The Stepconfig wizard, gives the option of creating a simulation config, there is a check box on the first screen.)

More