2.9.2 LinuxCNC Dell XPS 15 loading ramdisk - out of memory

More
07 Jun 2024 20:01 - 08 Jun 2024 01:30 #302561 by YEG
Finally decided to bite the bullet and build a CNC router after dreaming about it for two years. After looking at centroid and grbl, decided linuxcnc would be the best option for me

I'm trying to run the LinuxCNC 2.9.2 Debian 12 ISO on a dell XPS 15 9550 2016 with a windows 10 dual boot. Installation goes smoothly.

Whats wrong:
When I try to boot into linux via GRUB I get "loading initial ramdisk" followed immediately by "error: out of memory" and a crash dump.

The odd thing is, I was able to install and run regular Debian 12 perfectly fine. The live USB version of LinuxCNC 2.9.2 also boots perfectly fine.

What I've tried
I am fairly new to linux so I'm not sure if I'm missing anything obvious. I spent nearly a full day trying to troubleshoot this on my own to no avail. Things I've tried: updating GRUB, partition reformat and reinstall multiple times, increasing swap partition to equal ram size (16gb swap, main partition ~80gb), disabling ACPI, adding "dis_ucode_ldr" (though I have no clue what either of those are), verified BIOS settings are set as recommended for the XPS 15 (secure boot off, UEFI, sata set to AHCI) . Recovery mode does nothing, I've tried searching through these forums for anyone with similar issues but couldn't find any relevant posts mentioning "ramdisk" crash on boot.

Wasn't able to find the error log, either because of my inexperience with linux or because it doesn't exist (because it crashes before it can write the log?), apologies for posting log as pictures.

Any help or further direction would be appreciated, I'm a bit lost as to what to try and where to look next.
Attachments:
Last edit: 08 Jun 2024 01:30 by YEG. Reason: accidentally uploaded the same picture twice, added the second pic showing the rest of the error log

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More