Installing linuxcnc on Raspberry Pi with EtherCAT

More
17 Jan 2024 10:47 #290939 by govind@89
Hello, I am new to this field and am seeking guidance. My goal is to develop a CNC machine using an FPGA with EtherCAT Using Linuxcnc. I have come across various types of EtherCAT modules, but I am confused about which EtherCAT module to prefer.

My master is raspberry pi and slave is FPGA board  i want to communication between them using EtherCAT

I have outlined my questions below:
  1. Is it necessary to program the EtherCAT module using any programming language such as C/C++? 
  2. I watched a video explaining the installation process of EtherCAT on Raspberry Pi, but I am unsure about what to do on the slave side. Could you provide guidance on that? 
  3. In the scenario where my slave is an FPGA board, how can I install EtherCAT?

Are EtherCAT modules available in the market? Here are some options I found:
  1.  MICROCHIP : in.element14.com/microchip/evb-lan9252-a.../2819865?st=ethercat 
  2.  AB&T technology: www.bausano.net/en/hardware/easycat.html 
  3.  Esmacat :https://www.crowdsupply.com/harmonic-bionics/ease 
  4. Infineon : in.rsdelivers.com/product/infineon/kitxm...ED49fQEC5Rrm4x77Jazw

I prefer installing LinuxCNC using this video link:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jan 2024 11:53 - 17 Jan 2024 11:55 #290944 by Hakan
Hi govind@89, that's my video right there.. Things have progressed since then and EtherCAT is now mainstream, at least almost, and rodw has written guides on how to install EtherCAT. Better to follow them.

As for your questions.
1. An ethercat module such as LAN9252 or AX58100 is not programmed with C/C++. They need a configuration, which is stored in an external eeprom. Once connected to a EtherCAT master, the eeprom can be programmed from for example TwinCAT. The esi file is needed for that.