disconnect error

More
25 Mar 2024 07:43 #296689 by bkt
disconnect error was created by bkt
after a long investigation, see my ethercat system sometime fails ... checking dmesg I discover these messages ...

[242992.697621] igb 0000:02:00.0 enp2s0: igb: enp2s0 NIC Link is Down

after these working domanin changes ...

[243208.231620] EtherCAT 0: Domain 0: Working counter changed to 0/20.
[243208.335623] EtherCAT WARNING: Datagram 00000000869a65ae (domain0-0-main) was SKIPPED 1 time.
[243209.235628] EtherCAT 0: Domain 0: Working counter changed to 20/20.
[243310.748313] EtherCAT 0: Domain 0: Working counter changed to 0/20.

And i have warning and datagram looses until a joint have follow error after these system sometime return to right domain (seeems after a sort of negotiation ... but I'm not an expert) and only see lcnc OFF, sometime Lcnc crasch .... so question is:
autonegotiation of some nic on chain (thinck some servo and ek1100 work as nic) can be the problem?

these is actual situation on that enp2s0 ( think is ethercat line):

:~$ ethtool -a enp2s0
Pause parameters for enp2s0:
Autonegotiate:    on
RX:        on
TX:        on

Put autonegotiation in OFF state can solove the situation? ... my ethercat cable is 4 wire type after ek1100 because other servos have only ethercat 4 wire ....

regards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Mar 2024 08:50 #296692 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic disconnect error
Ethernet only use 4 wires. other wires can be used for phones as it uses different pairs but more often today for Power over Ethernet (PoE)
The following user(s) said Thank You: bkt

More
25 Mar 2024 15:20 #296728 by scottlaird
Replied by scottlaird on topic disconnect error
100 Mbps Ethernet is only 4 wires; Gigabit (and higher) use all 8, and some specialized variants only use 2 (100base-T1, for example).