EtherCAT stopped working after Reboot

More
09 May 2024 15:55 #300226 by burnie
Hello,
I've followed rodw instructions for installing EtherCAT on a Pi 4 with the 2.9.2 Pi OS, after
sudo systemctl start ethercat.service
The activity lights on the Pi and the servo driver ethernet ports started blinking.
ethercat slaves
recognized the servo driver, and all is good so far, but after I created the udev rule and rebooted the EtherCAT seemed to stop working.
ethercat slaves
Now returns "Failed to obtain number of masters: Failed to open master device /dev/EtherCAT0" No such file or directory" I've looked at the /dev folder and the EtherCAT0 file that was there before the reboot was gone and the activity lights on the Pi and the Servo driver stopped blinking.
sudo systemctl enable ethercat.service
sudo systemctl start ethercat.service
Did not return any error and
sudo systemctl status ethercat.service

returned this

I'm new to LinuxCNC and Linux in general, please let me know what command to run or what logs to get to help diagnose this, Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 May 2024 21:51 #300246 by rodw
Sounds like you forgot the udev rule to load on startup. PLease read carefully.
forum.linuxcnc.org/ethercat/45336-etherc...-how-to-step-by-step

More
10 May 2024 01:02 - 10 May 2024 04:34 #300262 by burnie
Hello rodw, thank you for the reply.

I've followed your instructions and did not forget to add the udev rule. I've checked after a reboot, the rule file and it is still in the /etc/udev/rules.d folder.

Edit:

I've tried following your instructions on an old desktop computer and there was no problem after a reboot. Maybe it's something to do with Pi or Pi OS?
Last edit: 10 May 2024 04:34 by burnie.
The following user(s) said Thank You: rodw

More
13 May 2024 10:43 #300500 by cekaa