HOW TO PICK A MOTION CONTROL BOARD

More
31 Jul 2012 01:42 #22616 by rwallace0921
Hello all,

I'm new to Linux CNC and trying to decide if it will work for the lathe I want to retro fit it on. I have an old Clausing Colechester 15" CNC with a very dead Anilam Crusader II L control. The Servo Amplifier Drive is an Indramat 3 TRM 2 and seems to be in good working order (no smoke or fumes coming from it). I have most of the manuals for the machine, which helps if you know what you're doing - not helping me much right now though.

Here's what I want to do and maybe someone can tell me I'm dreaming or suggest a way for me to do it or a product. I want to get rid of the Anilam Crusader II L controller, literally through the junk in the trash. In its place, I'd like to use one of my old computers with Linux CNC on it and buy a motion control board and connect it to the computer and the servo drive box.

So it seems to me all I need is a motion control board that works with Linux CNC and my Indramat 3TRM2 drives.

Does anyone know what board would work for me or could you tell me if I'm missing something ? I have the manuals in PDF format if you'd like to look at them too.

Any help is appreciated,

Richard

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jul 2012 02:04 #22617 by PCW
_If_ the Indramat drives are analog in (+-10v)
_and_ there are encoders on the axis,

Mesa or Pico systems hardware (which are both supported by LinuxCNC)
should work direcly with it

More
31 Jul 2012 04:44 #22618 by jmelson
rwallace0921 wrote:

Hello all,