Mesa 5i25 and 7176 getting started

More
08 May 2015 05:22 - 08 May 2015 05:29 #58497 by amhfabs
Hi Guys,

I'm really new to Linuxcnc and Linux for that matter, still finding my way around. I've just received my new mesa 5i25 pci card with 7i76 daughter board.

I've loaded linux 10.04 and linuxcnc with a live cd. I have then updated to Linuxcnc to 2.6 (forget the version).

I installed the 5i25 into the pci slot and powered on the system expecting to see at least 1 of the leds to power up... hmm nothing, so I load linux cnc, nothing... I then read about hostmot2 not having the 5i25 firmware?? god knows why? I downloaded a 5i25 firmware zip file, unzipped and placed it in the hm2 folder in the firmware file.

When I run the PNConfig I can see the options for 5i25 with 7i76, i go through all the procedures to set up a test machine etc. I can then open and run a test machine, but I there never seems to be any leds on the 5i25 card.

I must state at this point I haven't yet wired anything in, I've connected the 7i76 with the supplied cable, but I'd expect some sort of indication that things are ok before I wire in stuff to test.

Any pointers?
Last edit: 08 May 2015 05:29 by amhfabs.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2015 05:40 #58498 by PCW
If you bought a 5I25 with a 7I76, the 5I25 will already have the proper firmware
installed so nothing need be done in regards to 5I25 firmware

The 5I25 has 6 LEDS

2 are basically error LEDS (/DONE and /INIT both red) These should blink briefly at power up,

There are 4 green user LEDs, these will only be illuminated if commanded
by the host.

So no LEDs on the 5I25 is a good sign

More
08 May 2015 13:26 #58505 by amhfabs
Thanks for the reply!

Yes I bought both cards together.

Regarding the /DONE and /INIT red led's, I've watched the card when the machine is powered up and nothing happens.

I will try to connect some inputs and outputs and do some bench testing.