DLP 3D Printer - Linux CNC customization

More
06 Jun 2013 15:51 #35318 by fgcity
Hi everyone,

I am working on a DLP 3D printer and have already made some nice prints with it. Currently i am using MACH3 and am controlling the machine through the LPT port.

I use a custom Script for MACH to basically move an axis, open up a Power Point file and slide through each projection image while moving the axis again.

I am completely new to LinuxCNC but i want to use it and customize it for the DLP (SLA) 3D printer i have.

The whole process of control is quite simple except for one thing, which is the display of each layer as an image on the screen. The machine only has one axis to control and that is the Z lift platform. so my process is this:

1. Move Z 1mm up
2. Display a PNG image Full Screen
3. Wait 5 seconds
4. Show Black Screen
3. Move Z 1mm up

And this goes on and on for the available amount of PNG layer images.

I wanted to ask some help here, if someone could tell me what exactly i would need to do to make this work on LinuxCNC. Would i need a custom UI or i can do this with a script of sorts on LinuxCNC? I do know some programming but haven't used LinuxCNC before so please forgive me for the dumb questions in advance.

Perhaps there is a project already similar to this that i can look at? Any help would really be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jun 2013 12:47 #35386 by cmorley
This sounds like a job for just HAL actually.

But you could do this by using linuxcnc and a custom M code to call an external program to show or hide a picture on the screen.
I bet you could use information from this page:
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Axis_Embed_Video

Or customise a GUI like Gscreen to do what you want.

Chris M

More
07 Jun 2013 21:58 #35412 by andypugh

1. Move Z 1mm up
2. Display a PNG image Full Screen
3. Wait 5 seconds